• Main page

The Netherlands’ Wouter Wippert Wins Stage 2 at the ATB Tour of Alberta at Spruce Grove

September 2, 2017 – Immediate release



Cannondale Drapac’s Wouter Wippert jumped from the field with about 25 metres to go and outsprinted the pack to win his first race in more than two years. The Dutchman outdistanced second-place finisher John Murphy of Holowesko | Citadel presented by Hincapie Sportswear of the United States and H & R Block Pro Cycling’s Ryan Macanally of Australia to win.

“It releases some pressure for sure, especially noting the state of our team,” said Wippert. Who’s American-based team is facing potential shut down next week if funding isn’t found. “A win in a (big) race like this certainly helps the effort.”

American Evan Huffman of Rally Racing increased his lead by three seconds via a time bonus over teammate Sepp Kuss (18 seconds behind) and third-place overall Cannondale Drapac’s Tom-Jelte Slagter of The Netherlands (31 seconds behind).

“The overall race isn’t done at all,” said Huffman. “But, we’re in a really good (team) position. We have several guys in the top 10 hold the right cards. The goal is to be on top of the podium on Monday.”

     Jack Burke of Aevolo continues to impress and continues to be the highest place Canadian as well as Best Young Rider. The 22-year-old is from Squamish, B.C.

     Sepp Kuss (USA) of Rally Racing took over the Lexus of Edmonton King of the Mountain jersey.

     Today’s stage is a 116.5 km circuit race. The course features 11 laps with a climb in and out of the River Valley. The climb out of Hawrelak Park area was included in last year’s individual time trial but most of the circuit is new. Huffman said it will be a good “test” for his team.


How to Follow the 2017 ATB Tour of Alberta  

  • For a full list of rosters:
  • Spectators can follow with last two hours of race on race webcast:
  • Social media will follow the event from the gun on @tourofalberta on Facebook and @tourofalberta on Twitter providing many options for spectators.



Stage 1 – Sept. 1 / Jasper to Marmot Basin Ski Area (Jasper National Park), Road Race

Presented by Delta Air Lines                                TOTAL KILOMETRES: 165

Stage Winner: Evan Huffman (USA), Rally Cycling, time: 3 hr, 48 min. 46 sec.

2nd place: Sepp Kuss, :15 second behind

3rd place: Tom-Jelte Slagter, :28 seconds behind

Overall Leader: Evan Huffman (USA), Rally Racing



Stage 2 – September 2 / Spruce Gove, Road Race

Presented by Delta Air Lines                                TOTAL KILOMETRES: 140

Stage Winner: Wouter Wippert (NED), Cannondale Drapac, time: 2 hr, 49 min. 36 sec.

Overall Leader: Evan Huffman (USA), Rally Racing


Stage 3 – September 3 / Edmonton (University of Alberta), Circuit Race

Presented by Delta Lodge at Kananaskis          TOTAL KILOMETRES: 116


Stage 4 – September 4 / Edmonton (Churchill Square), Circuit Race

Presented by EllisDon                                            TOTAL KILOMETRES: 124



  • Date: September 1 – 4, 2017
  • Total Kilometres: 546
  • Total Number of Cyclists: 96 (all world class)
  • Event Organizers: Alberta Peloton Association
  • Website:



Steve Brunner